About the Scholarship

The Sandra Brown Excellence in Literary Fiction Scholarship (ELF) was established by Sandra and Michael Brown in 2008 to provide a full tuition scholarship to a TCU student who demonstrates both academic excellence and significant potential as a fiction writer. The scholarship is given to a rising junior with 54 or more credit hours and provides full tuition for the junior and senior years.

How to Apply

Interested students must be an English or Writing major and submit a writing portfolio of 50 to 75 pages. The portfolio must include an example, or examples, of the student’s original fiction—either short stories or part of a longer work—and a reflective introduction that discusses the student’s writing, goals, and interests. Two letters of recommendation are required. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA or better and remain active in TCU’s literary culture.

Click here for more information on preparing an ELF portfolio.

Deadline for the 2022 Scholarship

Portfolios must be submitted in ecopy by early December 2022 (exact deadline to be announced later). Please send ecopy to d.e.williams@tcu.edu.

For Further Information

Contact Dr. Dan Williams at d.e.williams@tcu.edu, or call 817-257-5907.

History of the ELF Scholarship

The ELF scholarship was created by Michael Brown to honor his wife, best-selling novelist Sandra Brown. The author of over 80 novels, more than 70 of which have appeared in the New York Times best-seller list, Sandra Brown has sold about 80 million books. She was a 4.0 English major at TCU and later received an honorary doctorate from the University.
Main Content