The Sandra Brown Excellence in Literary Fiction Scholarship (ELF) was established by Sandra and Michael Brown in 2008 to provide a full tuition scholarship to a TCU student who demonstrates both academic excellence and significant potential as a fiction writer. The scholarship is given to a rising junior with 54 or more credit hours and provides full tuition for the junior and senior years.

How to Apply

Interested students must be an English or Writing major and submit a writing portfolio of 50 to 75 pages. The portfolio must include an example, or examples, of the student’s original fiction—either short stories or part of a longer work—and a reflective introduction that discusses the student’s writing, goals, and interests. Two letters of recommendation are required. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA or better and remain active in TCU’s literary culture.

Click here for more information on preparing an ELF portfolio.

Deadline for the 2020 Scholarship

Portfolios must be submitted in ecopy no later than 5 p.m., December 6, 2019.

Please send ecopy to

For Further Information

Contact Dr. Dan Williams at, or call 817-257-5907

History of the ELF Scholarship

The ELF scholarship was created by Michael Brown to honor his wife, best-selling novelist Sandra Brown. The author of 80 novels, 70 of which have appeared in the New York Times best-seller list, Sandra Brown has sold about 80 million books. She was a 4.0 English major at TCU and later received an honorary doctorate from the University.

© 2018 Texas Christian University Site Design by Ardent Creative